8 Sep 2013

Waikato crews take out Great Race

3:07 pm on 8 September 2013

The Waikato University men's eight has won the annual university boat race on the Waikato River.

Waikato led the race all the way over nearly four kilometres to beat Sydney University by a length, with Cambridge University third.

Sydney won last year.

It's the 12th year the race has been run with crews competing for the Harry Mahon Trophy.

Waikato has now won eight times.

The Waikato University women's crew beat both Melbourne and Sydney universities for the Bryan Gould Cup.