31 Oct 2013

New chairperson for Waikato Regional Council

8:55 pm on 31 October 2013

The Waikato Regional Council has a new chairperson.

Fifth-term councillor Paula Southgate replaces Peter Buckley, who didn't stand for the position at the first meeting on Thursday of the council since the election.

The deputy chairperson is new councillor Tipa Mahuta.

Meanwhile, the Hamilton City Council held its first post-election meeting on Thursday, with a swearing in ceremony for mayor Julie Hardaker and 12 councillors.

Gordon Chesterman was confirmed as deputy mayor.

In allocating committee chair positions, the mayor has left out long-serving councillors Ewan Wilson and Dave Macpherson. Both men stood against her at the election.