5 Nov 2013

10 candidates to contest by-election

7:35 pm on 5 November 2013

Ten candidates are vying to replace Lianne Dalziel as the next MP for Christchurch East in the November by-election.

The Electoral Commission released the names of the candidates this afternoon, after nominations closed at midday on Tuesday.

The by-election, required after Ms Dalziel's resignation to contest the Christchurch mayoralty successfully, will be held on 30 November.

Chief Electoral Officer Robert Peden says the commission will now begin printing and distributing ballot papers to be ready for advance voting on 13 November.

Mr Peden says voters who will be outside the electorate on polling day should vote in advance.


Leighton Baker Conservative Party; Matthew Doocey, National Party; Ian Gaskin, Independent; Adam Holland, Independent; Paula Lambert, Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party; Jenner Lichtwark, Democrats for Social Credit; David Moorhouse, Green Party; Sam Park, Independent; Gareth Veale, ACT Party and Poto Williams, Labour Party.