18 Jan 2010

Tournament teams passports held by Cricket NZ

3:00 pm on 18 January 2010

New Zealand Cricket is holding the passports of visiting international teams participating in an Under-19 Cricket World Cup.

All 15 visiting teams agreed to surrender their passports after seven Ugandan cricketers vanished during a qualifying tournament in Canada last year.

The precaution was unanimously agreed to by NZ Cricket, the International Cricket Council and Immigration New Zealand.

The ICC says Immigration New Zealand initially wanted just the passports of players from countries considered to be at high-risk of overstaying, to be retained.

But the ICC felt it was unfair to single out individual teams.

The tournament began on Friday in Christchurch. It is due to end on 30 January. India is the current title holder.