30 Mar 2017

Williamson named Cricketer of the Year

9:48 pm on 30 March 2017

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson has been named New Zealand Cricketer of the Year.

Williamson won the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the second year in a row at the annual awards dinner in Auckland tonight.

Along with the top award, Williamson also won the Redpath Cup for first-class batting and was named Twenty20 Player of the Year.

Black Caps captain celebrates his 16th test century.

Black Caps captain celebrates his 16th test century. Photo: Photosport

Williamson led the Black Caps to one of their most successful home summers with test series wins over Pakistan and Bangladesh.

He scored four test centuries and equalled the record for most test centuries by a New Zealander - 17 - a record he shares with Martin Crowe.

Williamson averaged 59.94 in tests, with a high score of 176, while also averaging more than 50 in the Twenty20 format with 52.66.

Pace bowler Neil Wagner was named test player of the year.

Neil Wagner celbrates the wicket of Keshav Maharaj.

Neil Wagner celebrates one of his 56 test wickets over the past year. Photo: Photosport

Wagner took 56 wickets from 13 Tests, the second highest aggregate in New Zealand test history after Sir Richard Hadlee's 64 in 1985.

He also became the second fastest Black Cap to 100 Test wickets (26 matches), second once again to Sir Richard Hadlee (25 matches).

Wagner also won the first class bowling award, the Winsor Cup, while batsman Martin Guptill was named one day player of the year.

Guptill scored 570 runs at an average of 47.50.

Martin Guptill celebrates his 12th ODI century.

Martin Guptill. Photo: Photosport

His 114 in Sydney against Australia and match-winning 180 not out against South Africa in Hamilton were among the highlights.

Amy Satterthwaite, who scored four consecutive centuries equalling the world record set by Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, was named women's one day player of the year.

White Fern Amy Satterthwaite.

White Fern Amy Satterthwaite. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

She scored a staggering 935 runs at an average of 103.88.

White Ferns captain Suzie Bates was named women's T20 player of the year after leading New Zealand to a rare series win against Australia.

Taranaki Cricket Association life member Neil Sulzberger received the Bert Sutcliffe Medal Award for Outstanding Services to Cricket.

Having served as both a director and chairman of the Taranaki Cricket Association, Sulzberger's influence in the Central Districts region has been felt across junior development, district administration, finance, sponsorship and officiating, with his service spanning over 50 years.

Award winners

  • Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for Player of the Year: Kane Williamson
  • ANZ Test International Player of the Year: Neil Wagner
  • ANZ ODI International Player of the Year: Martin Guptill
  • Women's ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite
  • ANZ T20 International Player of the Year: Kane Williamson
  • Women's T20 Player of the Year: Suzie Bates
  • Winsor Cup (First-Class Bowling): Neil Wagner
  • Redpath Cup (First-Class Batting): Kane Williamson
  • McDonald's Super Smash Player of the Year: Glenn Phillips
  • Ruth Martin Cup (domestic batting): Katey Martin
  • Rhyl Blacker Cup (domestic bowling): Leigh Kasperek
  • Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Neil Sulzberger
  • Secondary School Girls' Young Cricketer: Bella James
  • Secondary School Boys' First XI Cup Young Cricketer of the Year: Fraser Sheat
  • Club of the Year: Red Star Cricket Club
  • Volunteer of the Year: Mike McCarthy
  • Official of the Year: Kannan Jagannathan
  • Cricket Development Officer of the Year: David McDonald
  • Best Female Engagement Strategy: Rebecca Yee, Bay of Plenty Cricket
  • Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: David Berry
  • Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Gordon Dry
  • Sir Jack Newman Award: Tony Edwards

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs