15 Mar 2012

Four Government departments to be merged

7:15 pm on 15 March 2012

Prime Minister John Key has confirmed the Government will merge four departments and create a single Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.


The Ministry of Economic Development, the Ministry of Science and Innovation, the Department of Labour and the Department of Building and Housing will be merged into a single entity by 1 July.

Mr Key, who detailed the changes in a speech in Auckland on Thursday, said the new department will drive the Government's priority of building a more productive and competitive economy.

It is expected that current employees will move across to the new ministry, and that there will be changes to senior leadership teams.

Mr Key also set 10 results for the public sector to achieve in the next three to five years.

They include reducing long term welfare, supporting vulnerable children, boosting skills and employment, reducing crime and improving New Zealanders' interaction with government departments.