7 Nov 2013

Kate Wilkinson to stand down at election

2:26 pm on 7 November 2013

Waimakariri MP and former Cabinet minister Kate Wilkinson has announced she will not seek re-election next year.

Kate Wilkinson.

Kate Wilkinson. Photo: NZ GOVERNMENT

Ms Wilkinson was elected to Parliament in 2005 as a list MP and in 2011 won the seat of Waimakariri from sitting Labour MP Clayton Cosgrove.

She was Minister of Labour but resigned on the release of the Royal Commission report into the Pike River mining disaster in 2012, and was removed from Cabinet altogether in a reshuffle earlier this year.

Katrina Shanks, a list MP since 2007, also announced on Thursday she will be standing down.

Ms Shanks replaced former National Party leader Don Brash when he resigned from Parliament.

National MPs Chris Tremain, Phil Heatley, Chris Auchinvole, Paul Hutchison and Cam Calder have announced their retirement at next year's election.