8 Oct 2014

New Government sworn in

6:20 pm on 8 October 2014

Prime Minister John Key and ministers in his third term government have been sworn in at a ceremony in Wellington.

The Governor-General, Lieutenant-General Sir Jerry Mateparae, has appointed the new government and re-instated Mr Key as Prime Minister.

Ministers including those from support parties United Future and the Maori Party were sworn in.

They are meeting this afternoon for the first time when Mr Key will spell out his expectations for the next three years.

There are four first-time ministers in the new Cabinet: Maggie Barry is a minister inside Cabinet with portfolios covering conservation, arts and senior citizens, while Louise Upston and Paul Goldsmith, and the Maori Party's Te Ururoa Flavell, are ministers outside Cabinet.

Todd McClay and Sam Lotu-liga were ministers outside Cabinet during the last term of Government and move into Cabinet.

Mr Key said today was a day of celebration.

"Look, I think it's a very exciting day, particularly for those who have never had a ministerial warrant before," he said.

"You never forget the sensation and feeling of getting that warrant for the first time.

"But I think this is a group of New Zealanders who know there's a lot of work to be done in front of them, they know they're up for that task."

Mr Key said he had full confidence in his new ministers.

John Key declares victory for the National Party.

John Key on election night. Photo: REUTERS