18 Oct 2016

Familiar faces among ECan appointments

4:43 pm on 18 October 2016

The government has reappointed four existing commissioners to the Canterbury Regional Council (ECan).

Canterbury plains, irrigation, Christchurch, ECan, Environment Canterbury

Photo: 123RF

In 2010, the government sacked the elected council and appointed commissioners instead, in order to get action on irrigation plans.

For the first time since then, in the recent local body elections, seven of the 13 council positions were democratically voted in.

Minister for the Environment Nick Smith this afternoon announced David Bedford, David Caygill, Iaean Cranwell, Elizabeth Cunningham, Thomas Lambie and Peter Skelton would serve as the appointed members.

Two of the appointees, Mr Cranwell and Ms Cunningham, have been appointed on the recommendation of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu.

Two of the previous council's commissioners, Dame Margaret Bazley and Rex Williams, have retired.

Decisions on the chair, deputy chair and committee structure will be made by the new council.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs