Thirteen candidates for Mt Albert by-election

7:37 pm on 1 February 2017

Thirteen candidates have put themselves forward for the Mount Albert by-election - but just two of them are from parties already in parliament.

Julie-Anne Genter and Jacinda Ardern.

Julie Anne Genter (left) and Jacinda Ardern are the two leading contenders for the seat. Photo: Green Party / RNZ

Labour's Jacinda Ardern and the Green Party's Julie Anne Genter are the two leading contenders for the seat, after the by-election was sparked by the resignation of Labour MP David Shearer at the end of last year.

But Gareth Morgan's Opportunities Party has also thrown its hat in the ring, with the party's chief of staff, economist Geoff Simmons, as its candidate.

There are four independents standing, along with representatives from smaller parties like the People's Party and the Cannabis Party.

Advance voting will begin on 13 February, ahead of the by-election on 25 February.

It has long been a safe Labour seat, and was previously held by the former Labour Prime Minister Helen Clark.

The candidates:

  • Adam Amos - Independent
  • Jacinda Ardern - Labour
  • Dale Arthur - Independent
  • Penny Bright - Independent
  • Patrick Brown - Communist League
  • Joe Carolan - Socialist - People Before Profit
  • Julie Anne Genter - Green Party
  • Abe Gray - Cannabis Party
  • Geoff Simmons - The Opportunities Party
  • Simon Smythe - Not a Party
  • Vin Tomar - New Zealand People's Party
  • Anthony Joseph J Van Den Heuvel - Human Rights Party
  • Peter Wakeman - Independent

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs