22 Dec 2017

Tax working group members announced

6:14 pm on 22 December 2017

A union economist and the head of Business New Zealand are among the members of the government's tax working group.

Most retirees will eventually rely on superannuation.

Photo: 123RF

As part of its election pledges, the Labour-led government said it would set the group up to look at the structure, fairness and balance of the tax system.

Former Finance Minister Sir Michael Cullen has already been named chair the group, whose first meeting is expected towards the end of next month.

The 10 other members of the group, announced today, are:

  • Professor Craig Elliffe, University of Auckland
  • Joanne Hodge, former tax partner at Bell Gully
  • Kirk Hope, Chief Executive of Business New Zealand
  • Nick Malarao, senior partner at Meredith Connell
  • Geof Nightingale, partner at PwC New Zealand
  • Robin Oliver, former Deputy Commissioner at Inland Revenue
  • Hinerangi Raumati, Chair of Parininihi ki Waitotara Inc
  • Michelle Redington, Head of Group Taxation and Insurance at Air New Zealand
  • Bill Rosenberg, Economist and Director of Policy at the CTU
  • Marjan Van Den Belt, Assistant Vice Chancellor (Sustainability) at Victoria University of Wellington