12 Apr 2015

Reduced speed for expanding townships

2:08 pm on 12 April 2015

Population growth in some Canterbury townships has led the Selwyn District Council to reduce speed limits around them, from 100 to 80 kilometres an hour.

Speed sign north of Otaki.

Photo: RNZ / Alexander Robertson

The council approved the reduction this week, for some main roads between the Christchurch city boundary and Prebbleton from 1 May.

Selywn is one of the fastest-growing areas in the South Island, as many people have moved there from Christchurch city since the earthquakes of 2010 and 2011.

A council spokesperson, Mark Chamberlain, said speed reductions were planned for more townships, including Burnham, Darfield, Leeston, Lincoln and West Melton.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs