27 May 2013

Dairy industry award winners announced

6:32 am on 27 May 2013

The dairy industry's brightest stars were honoured at the sector's annual awards on Friday night.

More than 500 farmers were competing in the three main categories - dairy trainee of the year, farm manager of the year and the sharemilker/equity farmer of the year.

Don and Jess Moore, who run nearly 1000 cows on more than 300 hectares in Gore, won the sharemilker/equity farmer of the year award.

The farm manager of the year title went to Richard Pearse representing the Canterbury/North Otago region and Southland's James Warren was named New Zealand dairy trainee of the year.

In other awards: Diane Coleman of Treeline Native Nursery, based at Ngongotaha, near Rotorua, is the supreme winner of this year's Enterprising Rural Women Award.

The nursery, which started 17 years ago, grows and supplies native trees, shrubs and grasses for revegetation and ornamental purposes.

It grows 300,000 plants per year that are sold to councils, farmers, landscapers, developers and home gardeners.