4 Nov 2013

Farmer shareholders voting to choose Fonterra directors

1:48 pm on 4 November 2013

Fonterra's farmer shareholders are voting this month on who will fill three seats on the co-operative's board.

Five dairy farmers are competing for the positions, one of which was left vacant by the retirement of former chairman Sir Henry van der Heyden.

Directors Malcolm Bailey and Ian Farrelly are standing again at the end of their three year terms. The other three candidates are Eric Ray, Donna Smit, and Michael Spaans.

Farmer shareholders will be able to meet and question the candidates at at a series of meetings starting on Sunday and voting ends on 25 November.

Forest owners will also be voting this month, to fill six positions on the board of the newly created Forest Growers Levy Trust. Fourteen candidates are contesting those seats.