17 Mar 2009

Waikato-BoP dairy famer wins young farmer contest

12:43 pm on 17 March 2009

Persistence has paid off for dairy farmer Andrew Morris, 30, who has won the Waikato-Bay of Plenty regional final of the national Young Farmer contest on his fifth attempt.

Tim van den Molen, who has been placed second or third for the past three years, was second once again. He was three points behind the winner, but comfortably ahead of third place-winner Sam Williams.

Regional finalists will go through to the Young Farmer Grand Final in Palmerston North in July.

Bay of Plenty sharemilkers John and Kim Wakefield have shown similar determination, winning the region's Sharemilker of the Year title on their sixth attempt.

The Bay of Plenty Farm Manager of the Year winner was Phil Moeke and the Dairy Trainee award went to Mark Nicholas.

In another regional final, Chris and Teresa Moore have been named Central Plateau Sharemilkers of the Year.

The farm manager award went to Mark and Jamie Perrott, and the dairy trainee award to Andrew Gerritsen.