15 Mar 2012

Queen Sirikit Cup team named

11:18 am on 15 March 2012

The world number one amateur Lydia Ko has been joined by Emily Perry and Chantelle Cassidy in the New Zealand golf team for next month's Queen Sirikit Cup tournament in Singapore.

New Zealand has won the Queen Sirikit Cup on three occasions previously and with the quality of this team they head to Singapore full of confidence of contending again.

All three golfers have shown great form in 2012 and will prepare for the event between 14 nations from the Asia Pacific region that is officially known as the Amateur Ladies Asia-Pacific Invitational Golf Team Championship.

Ko became the youngest winner in golf history when she won the NSW Open and before that was the youngest winner on record at the Australian Amateur.