14 Apr 2012

Levin golfer wins Australian Boys' Amateur Title

9:24 am on 14 April 2012

Tyler Hodge sunk a seven foot par putt on the final hole to win the Australian Boys' Amateur at Bribie Island Golf Club yesterday making him the first New Zealand golfer to win the title in 20 years.

The Levin golfer who held a six shot lead heading into the final round, did it the hard way and overcame cramps on the final nine holes to get the job done.

Hodge finished five under par, one clear of Queensland's Viraat Badhwar and says his first feeling was relief.

The 17-year-old left hander, who was hoping for a top 15 finish, says it's the biggest thing to happen in his career so far.

With the win, Hodge earns a place at this year's Emirates Australian Open at The Lakes Golf Club in December.

He follows in the footsteps of New Zealanders Phil Aickin (1980) in the old 36 hole format, Grant Waite (1981 and 1982) and Saali Herewini (1992) who have won the event and Australian legends Adam Scott and Jason Day who are former Australian Boys Amateur Champions.