2 May 2012

Otago women join seven-team national competition

2:18 pm on 2 May 2012

Otago Rugby has been given approval to field a women's team in this year's national women's competition.

The New Zealand Rugby Union General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen has confirmed Otago would be allowed to become the seventh side to compete in the 2012 Women's Competition following local efforts to raise the funds required to cover the province's costs to field a team.

Otago women were initially not included in the six-team competition due to kick off on September 22nd, following financial difficulties facing the Otago Rugby Football Union.

Otago joins Auckland, Hawke's Bay, Manawatu, Wellington, Canterbury and new entrants Waikato in the competition.