14 May 2012

Man City win most dramatic of all Premier League titles

5:53 am on 14 May 2012

Manchester City claimed their first English Premier League title for 44 years in incredible circumstances, scoring two goals in stoppage time at home to win their final match of the season 3-2 over Queens Park Rangers.

With Manchester United's players still on the pitch at Sunderland's Stadium of Light after a 1-0 victory it looked as though they were about celebrate their 20th Premier League title with City still trailing 2-1 at the Etihad Stadium.

However, Dzeko's header made it 2-2 and in almost unbearable tension Aguero burst into the area to angle a shot past Paddy Kenny, sparking wild celebrations as City became top dogs for the first time since 1968, winning the title on goal difference from Manchester United on goal difference.

To add some dynamite to an already explosive afternoon QPR's former City player Joey Barton was sent off early in the second half after an off the ball elbow on Carlos Tevez.

But QPR retained their Premier League status at the expense of Bolton Wanderers who were relegated after a 2-2 draw at Stoke city.

Arsenal finished third, coming from behind to beat West Bromwich Albion 3-2, edging Tottenham Hotspur into fourth after Spurs had beaten Fulham 2-0.

Arsenal will join City and United in the Champions League group phase while Spurs face an anxious wait to see if they get a crack at a Champions League qualifying tie.