22 May 2012

Three uncapped players in Ireland squad for NZ

2:07 pm on 22 May 2012

Ireland rugby selectors have included three uncapped players in their 25-man squad for their three-test tour here next month.

The newcomers are the Ulster prop Declan Fitzpatrick, Munster hooker Mike Sherry and winger Simon Zebo, also from the Limerick-based club.

The backs include Rob Kearney, who's just been named the European player of the year, as fullback for the champion Leinster club.

The veteran lock and Munster captain Paul O'Connell hasn't been named in the side at this stage, but he could be added if he recovers in time from a knee injury.