7 Jul 2012

Three New Zealanders in Sri Lankan Premier League

11:55 am on 7 July 2012

Three New Zealand cricketers have signed on to play in the inaugural Sri Lankan Twenty20 league.

James Franklin, Tim Southee and Nathan McCullum will all play as overseas internationals in the 2012 Sri Lankan Premier League.

Franklin will play for the Uva Unicorns, McCullum the Ruhuna Rhinos while Southee will play for the Basnahira Bears.

The league will run for three weeks during August.

Pakistan's Shahid Afridi and Chris Gayle of the West Indies are two of the biggest names in Twenty20 cricket and have both been signed to play in the Sri Lankan Premier League.