17 Aug 2012

Cricket Australia trims board to nine

5:50 pm on 17 August 2012

Cricket Australia has won approval from its member states to implement the biggest board restructure in over a century.

The 14-person board will be cut to nine and three will now be independent.

The others will comprise one from each of the six state associations.

Under the current 14-member board, foundation states South Australia, NSW and Victoria have three votes each, with two each to Queensland and Western Australia plus one for Tasmania.

The CA chairman Wally Edwards will be one of the state-appointed directors, alongside John Bannon, Earl Eddings, Dr Harry Harinath, Michael Kasprowicz and Tony Harrison.

The change will be effective from CA's annual general meeting on October the 25th.