20 Aug 2012

Dani Pedrosa wins Indianapolis MotoGP

8:06 am on 20 August 2012

From pole position Dani Pedrosa cruised to victory in Sunday's Indianapolis MotoGP, finishing nearly 11 seconds ahead of fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo.

Pedrosa claimed his 17th career Moto GP win while Lorenzo stayed on top of the world championship standings.

Pedrosa last won at Indianapolis in 2010 and it was his first win from pole position since the 2010 San Marino Grand Prix.

Last year's winner Casey Stoner of Australia finished fourth, despite suffering ligament damage and a slightly fractured right ankle in Saturday's qualifying round.