21 Aug 2012

Young Football Ferns announce World Cup squad

4:49 pm on 21 August 2012

New Zealand football has named have named a 21 strong squad for the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Azerbaijan in September.

Emma Fletcher, who plays for the Vancouver Whitecaps, is the only non-New Zealand based player in the squad chosen largely from graduates of New Zealand Football's National Talent Centres.

Goalkeeper Lily Alfeld, defender Megan Lee and Midfielder Hannah Carlsen all return for their second U-17 World Cup after competing in Trinidad and Tobago 2010.

The Young Football Ferns face testing games against Mexico, Japan and Brazil but coach Paul Temple is confident his side can foot it on the big stage.

The squad for FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012:


1-Lily ALFELD (Coastal Spirit)

16-Ronisa LIPI (Waterside Karori)

20-Emma TAYLOR (Glenfield Rovers)


2-Meikayla MOORE (Coastal Spirit)

3-Laura MERRIN (Coastal Spirit)

4-Catherine BOTT (Lynn Avon United)

5-Emily JENSEN (Three Kings United)

12-Megan ROBERTSON (Waterside Karori)

13-Megan LEE (Lynn Avon United)

21-Courteney van LIESHOUT (Pukekohe)


6-Hannah CARLSEN (captain) (Lynn Avon United)

8-Daisy CLEVERLEY (Lynn Avon United)

10-Emma FLETCHER (Vancouver Whitecaps, CAN)

14-Jessica INNES (Glenfield Rovers)

15-Lauren DABNER (Coastal Spirit)


7-Jasmine PEREIRA (Three Kings United)

9-Martine PUKETAPU (Three Kings United)

11-Briar PALMER (Waterside Karori)

17-Emily OOSTERHOF (Glenfield Rovers)

18-Emma ROLSTON (Waterside Karori)

19-Tayla CHRISTENSEN (Melville United)