30 Nov 2012

Habana wins try of the year award

10:12 am on 30 November 2012

The Springbok winger Bryan Habana has won the International Rugby Players' Association try of the year award for his score against the All Blacks in September.

Habana, the 2007 IRB player of the year, scored from a chip and chase in the Rugby Championship match in Dunedin which the All Blacks won 21-11.

Habana was chosen ahead of the three other shortlisted tries scored by New Zealand duo Hosea Gear and Julian Savea and Julien Malzieu of France.

In the five years of the award, no New Zealander has ever won try of the year.