4 Feb 2013

5-strong team named for cycle world champs

6:54 pm on 4 February 2013

Four sprinters have been included in a 5-strong New Zealand track cycling team for next month's World Championship's in Belarus.

The quartet of sprinters includes the men's sprint team of Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins who won at the recent World Cup in Mexico.

Olympic bronze medalist, Simon van Velthooven, who recorded a world class time at last week's nationals, will compete in the keiren.

Olympic team pursuit medallist Aaron Gate has also been selected following his success at the nationals where he dominated all endurance events, winning the individual pursuit, scratch race, points race and Madison.

BikeNZ High Performance Director Mark Elliott says they're in a rebuilding phase in terms of their men's team pursuit and while we could have put a team together that would be competitive in Minsk, they believe that level of investment will be better spent on the development of a new group of endurance track riders.

World champion Alison Shanks was unavailable because of injury.