15 Feb 2013

Rowers dominate Halberg Awards

11:30 am on 15 February 2013

Supreme Halberg winners Eric Murray and Hamish Bond are making no excuses for rowing's domination of the New Zealand Sports Awards.

The pair won the team award before taking the top honour, Mahe Drysdale took the sportsman award, Dick Tonks the coach award and double scullers Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan's come-from-behind win at Eaton Dorney was voted sporting moment of the year.

Bond says he's heard people say they're sick of rowing winning everything, but he says with the programme they have, there is only one result as far as they're concerned.

He says many of their races during during are more competitive than at international regattas

Shot put champion Valerie Adams won her seventh straight sports woman of the year award in what she says is a nice way to end what was a difficult year.

Golfer Lydia Ko won the emerging talent award and swimmer Sophie Pascoe won the disabled sportsperson of the year award.