22 Feb 2013

MCC changes call on a bowler hitting own stumps

7:37 am on 22 February 2013

The MCC has announced that a bowler inadvertently hitting the stumps at his end will now be no-balled rather than it being called a dead-ball.

That puts some pressure on the England bowler Steven Finn who is currently on tour in New Zealand.

The change to the Laws has been brought about specifically in response to Finn's persistent problem, which the England bowler is still trying to eradicate.

The change will come into effect from October 2013 but it is possible for the ICC to change the playing conditions for international cricket to immediately reflect the new Law.

The issue came to wider attention during England's home series against South Africa last year, after a complaint from the batsmen that it was causing a distraction during the second Test at Headingley.

Graeme Smith was caught at slip off a delivery that was called dead-ball by the umpires, as Finn had clipped the stumps at the non-striker's end.