15 Apr 2013

Two New Zealanders on podium at Pukekohe

12:20 pm on 15 April 2013

Two New Zealand drivers have finished Sunday's first V8 Supercars race at Pukekohe on the podium behind Ford's Will Davison.

In just the second V8 Supercars win for Ford at Pukekohe, Davison slipped by the New Zealander Fabian Coulthard to take the lead followed by Auckland's Shane van Gisbergen into second.

The safety car was deployed three times during the race, its last appearance after the Cantabrian Scott McLaughlin blew a tyre and had a high speed impact with the wall.

McLaughlin emerged winded but unhurt, before the safety car withdrew with just one lap of racing remaining.

Davison took the checkered flag ahead of the Holden drivers van Gisbergen in second and Coulthard in third.

In race two, Jason Bright topped the podium ahead of Garth Tander and Jamie Whincup to claim the Jason Richards trophy for the best driver over the weekend - named after his late Nelson-born team-mate, who died of cancer in 2011.

Coulthard was fourth, van Gisbergen 11th while McLaughlin's car was too damaged to compete.