18 Apr 2013

No surprises as Kiwis named for ANZAC test

12:01 pm on 18 April 2013

The New Zealand selectors have named a predictable team for Friday's ANZAC rugby league test against Australia in Canberra.

Simon Mannering captains his country for the first time while four of his Warriors team-mates, Shaun Johnson, Ben Matulino and Elijah Taylor are included, though only Johnson starts, at halfback.

Kieran Foran is the five-eighth, Issac Luke the hooker, Josh Hoffman the fullback, Jason Nightingale and Sam Perrett the wings, and Shaun Kenny-Dowall and Dean Whare the centres.

Joining Mannering in the forwards are Kevin Proctor, Jesse Bromwich, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Frank Pritchard.

The bench is Taylor, Sam McKendry, Matulino, Alex Glenn and the uncapped Tohu Harris, the 21-year-old Melbourne Storm forward replacing Jeremy Smith, the Newcastle back-rower left out after he was charged with a serious grade three dangerous head slam offence from the weekend.

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck is 19th man.

Benji Marshall and Sonny Bill Williams are unavailable for selection due to injury.

Kiwis (number of tests in brackets)

Josh Hoffman (2), Sam Perrett (20), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (8), Dean Whare (1), Jason Nightingale (16), Kieran Foran (8), Shaun Johnson (1), Jesse Bromwich (2), Issac Luke 22, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (11), Frank Pritchard (23), Kevin Proctor (1), Simon Mannering (c) (30), Elijah Taylor (3), Sam McKendry (7), Ben Matulino (13), Alex Glenn (5), Tohu Harris (0)