27 Apr 2013

Sharland and Wilson named hockey players of the year

5:41 pm on 27 April 2013

The hockey players Kayla Sharland and Nicholas Wilson are the joint recipients of the 2012 Player of the Year Award.

They were presented with the honour at the Annual Awards Dinner in Auckland and acknowledged for their consistently exceptional performances, especially during the London Olympics.

The Under-21 Player of the Year was handed to Dunedin drag flicker Kane Russell while hard working defender Sam Charlton collected the women's equivalent.