27 May 2013

Sir Graham gets off a big fine

5:49 am on 27 May 2013

The former All Blacks coach Sir Graham Henry has got off with a slap on the wrist for his outburst over the standard of refereeing in Super Rugby.

Now the Blues assistant coach, Sir Graham was facing a fine of up to $20,000 but he entered a guilty plea to the misconduct complaint brought against him by SANZAR and wrote to SANZAR, conceding that his remarks were inappropriate and he apologised, stating that it was never his intention to offend the officials involved.

His exemplary record as a rugby coach stretching over 40 years also helped and Henry was merely cautioned to refrain from such comments in future and ordered to issue a public apology to SANZAR and the match officials involved.

After the Blues' loss to the Crusaders, Henry accused the referees of missing blatant infringements and describing the television match official as blind.