12 Jan 2009

Sainz and Coma continue to lead Dakar

9:18 am on 12 January 2009

Spain's Carlos Sainz has extended his lead in the 30th Dakar Rally, after winning the eighth stage from Valparaiso to La Serena in Chile.

Sainz now leads Volkswagen teammate Giniel De Villiers by 10 minutes 57 seconds after finishing over 10 minutes ahead of the South African, who came home in fifth place.

Volkswagen drivers Dieter Depping and Mark Miller finished second and third respectively in the 294 kilometre-long stage.

KTM rider Cyril Despres, winner in 2005 and 2007, claimed victory in the motorcycle section to register his second stage win of this year's Dakar.

Spain's Marc Coma finished second, but maintains an overall lead of over an hour.