2 Feb 2009

NZ sevens squad for Wellington announced

7:17 pm on 2 February 2009

The New Zealand Sevens Coach Gordon Tietjens has chosen experience over youth in naming his 12-man squad for the NZI Sevens tournament in Wellington this weekend.

Tietjens has stuck with the tried and true to defend his side's Wellington crown with Waikato's Save Tokula the only debutant included in the squad.

The squad will be captained by IRB and New Zealand Sevens Player of the Year DJ Forbes.

New Zealand goes into the Wellington tournament in second place behind competition leaders South Africa.