31 May 2009

Melbourne do about face

12:53 pm on 31 May 2009

The Melbourne Tigers have done an about-turn and will compete in this year's eight-team Australian national basketball league after all.

The Tigers and cross-town rivals South Dragons announced earlier this month that they were withdrawing from the competition, although they hoped to return in 2010.

The eight-team competition, which includes the Auckland-based Breakers, will still be without teams from Sydney and Brisbane.