1 Jun 2009

Christchurch marathon winner selected for Berlin

11:50 am on 1 June 2009

Michael Aish is the only New Zealand men's selection for the world championship marathon to be held in Berlin in August.

Aish won yesterday's Christchurch marathon in 2 hours 18 minutes and 18 seconds, five minutes off his personal best time.

Three New Zealand women will also compete in Berlin, in the world cup marathon to be run in

conjunction with the world championships.

The team is Shireen Crumpton of Dunedin and overseas based Mary Davies and

Fiona Docherty.

American based Liza Hunter-Galvan was not considered for selection due to her unavailability.