3 Jun 2009

Plenty of fresh faces in Black Sticks squad to face India

6:05 am on 3 June 2009

There are 11 new players named in the New Zealand women's hockey team to take on India in a four-match series here later this month.

Following last week's trials, the Black Sticks selectors, coach Mark Hager, Chris Leslie, Tina Bell-Kake and Diana Te Awa, have chosen a national squad of 25 players for the series from June 17th to the 21st.

Seven players who were part of the 2008 Beijing Olympic team feature while another seven previously represented the Black Sticks.

Of the 11 new faces, seven are also in the current Junior Black Sticks team to attend the Junior World Cup in Boston in August.

The new caps are: Anna Thorpe (Northland), Sally Rutherford, Stacey Michelsen (North Harbour), Ella Gunson, Katie Glynn, Lucy Talbot, Samantha Harrison, Stacey Brannigan (Auckland), Anita Punt (Wellington), Liz Perry and Sophie Devine (Canterbury).