18 Jul 2013

Queensland wins 8th straight State of Origin

8:31 am on 18 July 2013

A length of the field run from a streaker couldn't deny Queensland its eighth State of Origin series victory in a row last night, as the Maroons beat New South Wales 12-10 in game three at Sydney.

The match stood on a knife's edge for much of the contest, with both teams scoring two tries and were seperated only a single penalty goal.

The margin could have been greater as Queensland was denied a third try two minutes from fulltime by a streaker, who tripped over a New South Wales defender after evading security for a length of the field run.

A decade of State of Origin dominance now stands before Queensland as New South Wales won't host two matches in the best of three series again until 2016.

The Maroons skipper Cameron Smith was awarded the Wally Lewis Medal as the player of the series.


Jonathon Thurston, Justin Hodges tries, Thirston penalty, conversion.

New South Wales

James McManus, Trent Merrin tries, James Maloney conversion

HT: Q 8-4 NSW