30 Jul 2013

New Zealand to host half the matches of the Cricket World Cup

12:51 pm on 30 July 2013

New Zealand will host 23 matches during the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

The venues, pools and schedule have been announced with the pool matches split between New Zealand and Australia.

Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Hamilton and Nelson all get a share of the pool matches with Wellington to also get a quarter-final and Eden Park a semi-final.

The MCG in Melbourne will host the final.

Christchurch's Hagley Park will host the opening match of the tournament between New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

New Zealand then plays a qualifier in Dunedin, England in Wellington, Australia in Auckland, another qualifier in Napier and Bangladesh in Hamilton.