26 Jun 2009

Six newcomers on NZ Cricket's contract list

4:58 pm on 26 June 2009

Six of the 20 players New Zealand Cricket is offer international contracts for a year from August are newcomers to the lists, if not to recent test or limited overs sides.

Pace bowlers Brent Arnel and Ian Butler, allrounders Neil Broom and, Grant Elliott and batsmen Martin Guptill and Tim McIntosh are offered contracts for the first time.

And fast bowler Shane Bond regains a central contract after being unavailable last year due to his ICL involvement.

The others are James Franklin, Daniel Flynn Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Chris Martin, Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder. Tim Southee. Ross Taylor and Daniel Vettori

Players to miss out include Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, Jamie How, James Marshall, Michael Mason, Aaron Redmond and Scott Styris.

Head of the selection panel, Glenn Turner says Fulton, Styris, How and Redmond had been in close contention but their performances had not been strong enough.

And Turner says pace bowler Darryl Tuffey close to a contract after strong domestic performances, and is likely to be in contention for national selection.