27 Jun 2009

NZRL board members confirmed

2:41 pm on 27 June 2009

Ray Haffenden, Meng Foon and Mark Gosche have been confirmed as the three elected directors on the New Zealand Rugby League's new board.

Haffenden has been voted in as the new vice-chairman.

The trio joins chairman Scott Carter and the other three appointed directors Gary Fissenden, John Bishop and Michele Teague to complete the board.

The NZRL appointments panel comprising chairman John Wells, Sir John Anderson, Cameron McGregor and Peter Kerridge last month nominated Haffenden, Foon and Gosche for the three elected director positions and further recommended Haffenden as vice-chairman. These recommendations were all unanimously supported at a special NZRL general meeting in Auckland today.

Meanwhile, the NZRL has advertised extensively seeking applications for directors on its seven zone boards created under its new constitution.

The process for appointing a chief executive officer is also well-advanced. The board expects to reveal the successful applicant early next month.