7 Sep 2013

Roosters win minor premiership

5:59 am on 7 September 2013

The Sydney Roosters have won the National Rugby League's minor premiership, after coming from behind to beat bitter rivals South Sydney 24-12.

The Roosters won the the JJ Giltinan Shield for the first time since 2004 in a brutal but absorbing encounter in front of a record crowd for a non-finals game.

Former Warriors five-eighth James Maloney scored two tries with Mitchell Pearce crossing under the posts for his side's decisive four-pointer on the hour-mark in front of a crowd of 59,780.