18 Sep 2013

Robinson recalled to Wallabies

5:29 am on 18 September 2013

Veteran Wallabies prop Benn Robinson has been recalled to Australia's squad for their two-match Rugby Championship tour of South Africa and Argentina.

Second-rower James Horwill has also been included in the 28-man squad and named as captain ahead of Ben Mowen after overcoming a slight hamstring strain.

Uncapped Reds pair Albert Anae and Chris Feuai-Sautia are the other new inclusions with Brumbies loosehead Scott Sio and flanker Liam Gill paying the price for the Wallabies' 1-3 start to the tournament.

Overlooked by coach Ewen McKenzie at the start of the Rugby Championship, Robinson has been brought back to stabilise the shaky Wallabies scrum, after impressing in Sydney club rugby for Eastwood.

Wallabies tour squad: Forwards - James Slipper, Benn Robinson, Sekope Kepu, Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Saia Fainga'a, Albert Anae, James Horwill, Rob Simmons, Kane Douglas, Sitaleki Timani, Ben McCalman, Scott Fardy, Michael Hooper, Ben Mowen, Dave Dennis

Backs - Nic White, Will Genia, Quade Cooper, Matt Toomua, Bernard Foley, Christian Lealiifano, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Joe Tomane, Chris Feauai-Sautia, James O'Connor, Israel Folau.