23 Jul 2009

NZRU confirm new NPC format

8:37 am on 23 July 2009

The New Zealand Rugby Union has confirmed a 10-team Premier Division for next year's National Provincal Championship with six teams in a Division One competition.

The Premier competition will be made up of the top 10 sides from this year's Air New Zealand Cup with the bottom four going to Division One along with two teams from the Heartland Championship.

However finishing in the top 10 doesn't guarantee a place as unions have to meet off-field criteria as well.

The winner of the Division One competition will automatically be promoted to the Premier Division.

The Heartland Championship, or third division, will comprise 10 teams but it is yet to be decided if there will be promotion to Division One.