2 Oct 2013

Adams finalists for athlete of the year again

5:57 am on 2 October 2013

New Zealand's champion shot-putter Valerie Adams has again been named in the shortlist for the IAAF Athlete of the Year Award.

This year Adams defended her world championship title and also won the Diamond League series.

She has been a finalist numerous times, but never won the athlete of the year title.

Others among the 10 finalists are Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Ethiopian runners Meseret Defar and Tirunesh Dibaba.

Usain Bolt, Mo Farah, LaShawn Merritt and Wilson Kipsang are among the men's finalists.

Three men's and women's finalists will be decided by poll with the winners to be announced in November.