22 Oct 2013

Six former All Blacks in Maori All Blacks tour party

6:41 pm on 22 October 2013

Six former All Blacks have been named in the Maori All Blacks side to play Canada and the United States next month.

The side will be captained by Wellington and Hurricanes back Tim Bateman and leaves on its North American tour on Monday with the first game against Canada on November 4th and the game against the United States on November 10th.

The six former All Blacks are Hika Elliott, Corey Flynn, Jared Hoeata, Ben Afeaki, Piri Weepu and Zach Guildford while eleven of the side have previously played for the Maori All Blacks.

Former captain Tanerau Latimer was unavailable as he's having knee surgery.

The full squad is: Tim Bateman (captain) Hika Elliott, Corey Flynn, Ben Afeaki, Nick Barrett, Chris Eves, Kane Hames, Joe Royal, Jarrad Hoeata, Luke Katene, Joe Wheeler, Luke Braid, Shane Christie, Elliot Dixon, Liam Squire, Blade Thomson, Jamieson Gibson-Park, Piri Weepu, Ihaia West, Charlie Ngatai, Jackson Willison, Kurt Backer, Zac Guildford, Robbie Robinson, Andre Taylor, Matt Proctor