2 Nov 2013

Maori team named to take on Canada

5:47 am on 2 November 2013

Coach Colin Cooper has named a strong Maori All Blacks team to take on Canada in Toronto on Monday morning in the opening match of the North American Tour.

Tim Bateman captains the side at first five eigthth, with the backline also including Piri Weepu, Zac Guildford, Charlie Ngatai and Andre Taylor.

The team features five players in the starting XV making their debut with another six new caps in the reserves.

The team is....

Kane Hames, Hikawera Elliot, Ben Afeaki, Jarrad Hoeata, Joe Wheeler, Liam Squire, Luke Braid, Elliot Dixon, Piri Weepu, Tim Bateman, Zac Guildford, Jackson Willison, Charlie Ngatai, Andre Taylor and Robbie Robinson.

The reserves are Chris Eves, Nick Barrett, Ash Dixon, Blade Thomson, Shane Christie, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ihaia West and Matt Proctor.

The game is a sell-out with 22 thousand fans expected making it the largest ever rugby crowd in Canada.