3 Nov 2013

Timaru's Sam Wreford has comfortable Auckland marathon win

11:26 am on 3 November 2013

Timaru runner Sam Wreford led from start to finish to easily win the Auckland marathon from defending champion Rowan Walker of Australia.

Wreford won by six minutes in two hours, 18 minutes and 57 seconds, the fastest time since Dale Warrander's record of two hours, 17 minutes 43 seconds set seven years ago.

The women's race was won by Kirsten Molloy from Australia in two hours, 52 minutes and 24 seconds, with Wellington's Angela Leck second and Kelly Parlane from Auckland third.