10 Dec 2013

Foran named league player of the year

7:38 pm on 10 December 2013

The Kiwis five-eighth Kieran Foran has won New Zealand Rugby League's supreme award for 2013.

As NZRL Player of the Year, Foran is also the second recipient of the Steve Watene Memorial Medal, which was first awarded last year to Jeremy Smith.

The 23-year-old played all six matches in the World Cup and helped Manly to the NRL final.

Dean Whare of the Kiwis and Penrith was named rookie of the year.

The judging period did not inclide the World Cup.