24 Aug 2009

Winners found at NZ Squash Championships

2:37 pm on 24 August 2009

Top seed Jaclyn Hawkes has taken out the women's New Zealand Squash Championships in Palmerston North.

The world number 16 showed her experience in ending the run of Joelle King in four games in a tense 49-minute final.

Auckland's Kashif Shuja claimed his fifth national men's title after dominating fellow Remuera club player and seventh seed George Crosby.

Only one player has won more national titles than Shuja, with Bay of Plenty's Paul Steel winning the Riddiford Cup on 10 occasions.